In the Rajya Sabha election on June 10, the Shiv Sena will field two candidates

by Web Desk | Published: 17 May 2022

BMC Elections 2022
The Shiv Sena has announced that it will run two candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections in Maharashtra. Sanjay Raut, the party's sitting MP and chief spokesman, will be renominated, but the party plans to fight for another seat, relying on its excess votes and votes transferred from ruling partners NCP and Congress. Transport Minister Anil Parab, a close confidant of CM Uddhav Thackeray, made the announcement. This indicates that the Shiv Sena will not support Chhatrapati Sambhaji, who has already declared his candidacy as an independent. In the upper house, the BJP nominated him.
"CM is keen to award nomination to a Shiv Sainik and not to an outsider," a senior Shiv Sena politician close to the Chief Minister informed the Free Press Journal. CM is counting on the party's extra votes, as well as votes transferred from the NCP and Congress." He went on to say that the CM's decision is significant because the Shiv Sena transferred extra votes to NCP nominee Fauzia Khan during the last Rajya Sabha elections. "The NCP and Congress resolved after the last Rajya Sabha elections to transfer extra votes to the Shiv Sena's second nominee," he continued.
Another Shiv Sena minister stated that the Maha Vikas Aghadi government intends to win four of the six Maharashtra seats up for election on June 10. Two seats will be won by the BJP. According to the current party strength, the Maha Vikas Aghadi has the backing of 168 of the 288 parliamentarians, with the Shiv Sena receiving 55 votes, the NCP 53 votes, the Congress 44 votes, other parties 8 votes, and independents 8 votes. With a quota of 42 seats required for the election of one seat, the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress are optimistic about winning one seat each based on their individual strengths.
With 106 legislators, the BJP has one legislator each from Jan Surajya and Rashtriya Samaj Paksha, as well as five independents. The BJP has 113 members in the legislature. With this, the BJP expects two of its nominees to win. If the BJP decides to run for one more seat, the MVA will be put to the test to keep its supporters united, as analysts speculate about horse-trading. The election is required because the terms of six Rajya Sabha members expire in July. Praful Patel (Nationalist Congress Party), Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena), P Chidambaram (Congress), Piyush Goyal, Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, and Vikas Mahatme were among them (BJP).
Image Courtesy: Twitter @Sena_Tweets