Chief Electoral Officer

Chief Electoral Officer: Sh. Sunil Arora 


The Chief Electoral Officer of Maharashtra is Sunil Arora (Incumbent since 2 December 2018)


Sh. Sunil Arora took charge as Chief Election Commissioner of India on 2nd December 2018.  Prior to assuming charge as Chief Election Commissioner, he served as Election Commissioner of India from 1st September 2017 to 1st December, 2018 and was associated with the conduct of elections of the state Assemblies in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland & Karnataka. While serving as CEC, the Commission has successfully conducted the General Election to the 17th Lok Sabha and Assembly Elections to the states of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha & Sikkim. 


Just before joining MSDE in Delhi in 2014, he served as Additional Chief Secretary (Home) to Government of Rajasthan driving formulation of policy, strategy, governance and regulation for key sectors including Civil Defence, Civil Aviation, Home Guards and Jail Administration, etc.


Prior to that, he was focussing on Industries as Additional Chief Secretary as well as Chairman of the Rajasthan State Industrial and Investment Corporation (RIICO) from 2005-2013.


Aside from being a key proponent for the Rajasthan State Industrial Policy, Sh. Arora has been on the board of various corporate entities, such as Barmer Mining and Lignite Company, Mahindra SEZ, and Rajasthan State Mines and Minerals Limited.


E-Mail: [email protected]
Office No.: 23052323, 23052424
Office Fax: 23052525
Sr. P.P.S.:  Mr. R.M. Bhatia, 23052424(Office),
P.P.S. : Mr. Amit Kumra

Source: Election Commission India