Shiv Sena, NCP to battle nearby body surveys together including BMC surveys, Congress unsure

by Web Desk | Published: 22-02-2021

BMC Election Date
 Mumbai: The Shiv Sena and the NCP have decided to jointly contest the local body elections, including the BMC polls.  According to Sujit Mahamulkar, the Congress has not yet taken a decision and will contest the BMC elections on its own.  Elections are expected to take place from May 2021 to May 2022.  Sena MP and chief spokesperson Sanjay Raut said on Sunday that the "election formula" had been finalized.  "The sena and the NCP will contest the elections together," he confirmed
 He said they were trying to negotiate a pre-poll alliance with their partner in the Maha Vikas Agadi (MVA) government, the Congress.  Mumbai Congress president Bhai Jagtap has already announced that his party will contest the BMC election on it's on , he said.  ” The Sena has strongholds in Mumbai, Thane, Kalyan-Dombivli, Aurangabad, Nashik Municipal Corporations, NCP has strong holds in Pune and Pimpri-Chinchwad and Congress in Nagpur.
However, on condition of anonymity, a minister told in Press meet, “The Sena and the NCP want the Congress to run freely in the BMC to corner the BJP.  The Tantra Sena and the NCP will be in power, while the Congress is the largest party weakening the BJP.  Root said MVA partners will try to contest the local government elections together wherever possible.  "There will be no friendly fight, but coordination if you decide to compete separately."  Raut said he intends to discuss the voting strategy with NCP Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Power soon.
Nawab Malik, NCP spokesperson and Minister for Skills Development, said the MVA's main objective was to keep the BJP out of power.  The MVA strategy will depend on the strength of the party in the local bodies.  Where necessary, the three parties will contest together, so the BJP should not benefit, ”he agreed.  In the BMC elections, Malik said, "We feel that the Sena-NCP-Congress should fight together in the BMC." 
The five municipal corporations to be elected in the next six months are Navi Mumbai, Rangabad, Vasai-Virar, Kolhapur, Kalyan-Dombivli and 10 others - Mumbai, Thane, Ulhasnagar, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Nashik, Akola, 20, Amravati 20  Elections will be held from February to March.  Civic polls in Bhiwandi, Malegaon, Latur, Parbhani and Chandrapur will be held in April-May 2022, with a few municipal councils and ZillaParishads