The MVA government is challenging Navneet and Ravi Rana's bail, claiming that they are in contempt of court.

by Web Desk | Published: 08 May 2022

BMC Elections 2022
The Maha Vikas Aghadi government is expected to file a Contempt of Court petition against MP Navneet Rana and MLA Ravi Rana for violating the bail order conditions, following a barrage of criticism directed at Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and the state government following their arrest and release from jail in connection with the Hanuman Chalisa row.
"Accused shall not address the press on any matters relevant to the Hanuman Chalisa recitation case," the judge said when granted bail. The state government will ask the court to cancel the Ranas' bail, according to special public prosecutor Pradeep Gharat. Gharat further stated that the bail petition will be filed with the Sessions court on Monday. On May 4, Navneet and Ravi Rana were released from jail after being granted bail.
After being discharged from Lilavati Hospital, MP Navneet Rana talked to the media. "I challenge Uddhav Thackeray to run for any constituency, and I will run against you and show you what woman power is," she declared. Ravi Rana, meanwhile, lambasted the state government, alleging that his wife, Navneet Rana, was ignored when she complained of health problems and demanded hospitalisation. "If reciting the Hanuman Chalisa is a crime, I am willing to serve ten years in prison," she said.
"This one woman will stand in front of you and confront you about your unjust fight. My voice will not be silenced "Navneet Rana explained. Rana explained her present health situation, saying, "Atrocities were committed on me. My back injury has become a significant problem. I merely asked the doctor to release me today, but the doctor refused ",
Kishori Pednekar, a Shiv Sena spokesperson and former mayor, attacked Navneet Rana, stating that her attack on the CM was intended to create a riot-like situation in Mumbai. "She knows she won't receive publicity unless she criticises Uddhav Thackeray, Aaditya Thackeray, and Sharad Pawar," she said.
Image Courtesy: Twitter @fpjindia