Polling ends, record 52.17% turnout in Mumbai

by Web Desk | Updated: 2017-02-21

Voting for the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) and nine other municipal bodies along with 11 zila parishads (district councils) across Maharashtra ended at 5.30pm on Tuesday. Mumbai registered a record voter turnout of 52.17%, up nearly 8% over the 2012 figure, in the election to Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) on Tuesday, as per the preliminary estimates of the Maharashtra State Election Commission. A state election commission spokesperson said the final turnout figure could even be higher.
For BMC, there are 2,275 candidates in 227 municipal wards in the fray with the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena, pitted against each other to control the country’s richest civic body.

The vote is being dubbed as a referendum on the Devendra Fadnavis government and the results on Thursday could impact the future of the ruling alliance in the state.