Sena wins 3 wards; BJP, Congress one each

The first phase for eight of the 17 ward committee elections of the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) were held on Thursday.

Shiv Sena’s candidate Hemangi Hemantkumar Chemburkar (F South and F North ward) secured 11 votes defeating congress candidate Pallavi Mungekar.

Lochana Chandarakant Chavan (P North ward) was elected unopposed, after Sunil Gujjar withdrew his candidature from the poll. Sheetal Mukesh Mhatre (R North and R Central ward) was elected after securing 10 votes defeating Congress candidate Shivanand Shetty.

Congress candidate Shahana Rizwan Khan was declared elected to ward (A,B and C) after securing eight councillor votes defeating the Shiv Sena’s Makrand Narverkar.Also, Yogesh Janardhan Bhoir of the Congress was elected from the R South ward securing six votes, while the BJP’s Mukesh Mistry was able to secure only five votes.

BJP candidate Sarita Ajay Patil (ward C and D) garnered 11 votes while party colleague Advocate Nyanmurti Ramchandra Sharma (P North) secured 11 votes defeating congress candidate Parmindar Bhambra.

MNS candidate Hemlata Vinod Wange (G South ward) secured 5 votes defeating Mansi Madhukar Dalvi of the Shiv Sena by a single vote.

The elections for eight more wards will be held on Saturday with the remaining ward committee elections scheduled for April 16, 2016.