mumbai-wards-mapMumbai Municipal Ward offices and Corporators

The city of Mumbai is divided into 6 zones for administrative purposes, each consisting of 3 to 5 wards named alphabetically.

There are 24 municipal wards in Mumbai, each headed by the Assistant Municipal Commissioner AMC (Ward Officer).There are 227 corporators or councillors in Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC). Also each ward has its own ward office.

Zone 1 consists of Ward A,B,C,D and E

Zone 2 consists of Ward F North, F South, G North and G South

Zone 3 consists of Ward H East, H West, K East and K West

Zone 4 consists of Ward P North, P South, R Central, R North and R South

Zone 5 consists of Ward L, M East and M West

Zone 6 consists of Ward N, S and T

List of Wards in Mumbai for BMC Elections 2017
List of Wards in Mumbai for BMC Elections 2012

About Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC)

The Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) is also known as Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai (MCGM).It is responsible for civic infrastructure and administration of the city of Mumbai, the capital of Maharashtra and some Mumbai suburbs.

BMC is the second oldest municipal corporation in India. Set up in 1872, it was established under the Bombay Municipal Corporation Act 1888.

It is the richest municipal corporation in the country. It announced a budget of Rs 37,052 crore for 2016-17.The annual BMC budget is more than the budget of some small states in India.

The BMC runs many municipal schools and major civic hospitals like KEM, Nair and Sion hospitals.

BMC Website:


The Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation is headed by a Municipal commissioner.

The mayor is the head of the house, who is usually from the majority party.

Elections are held every 5 years to elect corporators to power, who are responsible for overseeing that their wards have the basic civic infrastructure in place, and that there is no lacuna on the part of the authorities. The civic body currently has 227 corporators.

Mumbai city Officials
Mayor – Snehal Ambekar – Since September 9, 2014
Municipal Commissioner – Ajoy Mehta – Since May 2015

The BMC is currently ruled by the Shiv Sena – Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) – Republican Party of India (Athavale) alliance and Congress is the main opposition party in the civic body.

- Advertisement -