Congress announces team office-bearers for Mumbai unit

Ahead of the crucial 2017 BMC Elections, the Indian National Congress today announced a team of its office bearers for Mumbai unit that includes former state legislators and ministers.

Ths list approved by party president Sonia Gandhi, the party has named 3 senior vice presidents, 16 vice presidents, 22 general secretaries, 5 spokespersons, 32 secretaries, 23 executive committee members and 19 permanent invitees.

The three appointed senior vice presidents are former MLAs  Madhu Chavan and Baba Siddiqui, former state minister and sitting legislator, Varsha Gaikwad, from the Dharavi constituency.

Legislators Amin Patel, Aslam Shaikh and BMC corporators Mohsin Haider and Pravin Chheda were appointed as general secretaries of the unit.

MLC Bhai Jagtap, Congress’s  Bandra corporator Asif Zakaria and former councillor Ravi Raja have been named as spokespersons, apart from Gajendra Lashkari and Arun Sawant.

The list of special invitees include the names of the opposition leader in the BMC Devendra Amberkar and former Mumbai Region Congress Committee presidents Kripashankar Singh and Janardan Chandurkar.

The congress in March this year had appointed former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan as Maharashtra unit chief and former MP Sanjay Nirupam as Mumbai unit chief.