With BJP on it’s side, Shiv Sena wins two BMC committees

Its candidate was elected chairman of the standing committee, after BJP supported him at the last moment; Had the BJP abstained from voting, Sena would have lost.

On Tuesday (5th April,2016), the Shiv Sena won chairmanship of the crucial Standing Committee and the Education Committee of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) in an election it fought with BJP, its ruling partner in the state and BMC.The Sena’s Yashodhar Phanse was once again elected chairman yesterday after the Sena-BJP joined hands to support him at the last moment.

The same was followed in the Education Committee, where the Sena’s Hemangi Worlikar became the chairperson. This seems to be a curtain raiser to the 2017 BMC elections, with both the parties threatening to break the alliance and contest independently.

Phanse and Worlikar, who fought as Shiv Sena-BJP-RPI nominees, defeated Congress-NCP’s candidates Sunil More and Priyatama Kumar, respectively, a BMC release stated.

The Sena-BJP saffron alliance is in power in the BMC with 104 corporators in all. In the standing committee – the most important committee of all that decides allocation of funds – Sena has 10 corporators and BJP has 5.

While in the case of other committees, the chairmanship is rotated between the two parties, the standing committee has traditionally been with big brother Sena while the improvements committee, with the BJP. The chairpersons of BEST, Health, Law are kept in rotation.

Therefore, the BJP’s Ritu Tawde held the chairmanship of the education committee in the previous term, which was supposed to be smoothly handed over to the Sena.